top of page

Self Care? What's That?

I feel like the pressure is on to write something meaningful since my last post was so well received. I got quite a bit of positive feedback and I first want to thank everyone who sent me a message on Facebook or left a comment for your kind words. It was scary to be so vulnerable on my very first real post but the feedback was amazing.

With that being said, this is a lifestyle blog. Not just a mental health blog. Some of my posts will have a mental health theme, some will just mention it and others will have absolutely nothing to do with it. I have quite a few topics lined up to write about that are not mental health themed and I hope you stick around for those. This week, I want to talk about self care. Yes, this is mental health related.

Some of you might be wondering, what is self care? Self care is taking care of your mind and your emotions with the same vigilance that you would take care of your physical body.

We hear all the time about how we should take care of our bodies. Exercise, limit sugar, eat fruits and vegetables, sleep, drink water, etc. The list goes on. However, you do not hear about taking care of your mind and emotions nearly as often.

We live in a world where you are seen as selfish or entitled if you spend even a minute on yourself. We are expected to take care of everyone around us regardless of how exhausted we are. How can you take care of others if you yourself are not being taken care of? You cannot fill up someones cup if yours is empty.

I know everyone is busy. From the moment we wake up we are go, go, go until we go to sleep. So the question becomes, how do I find time for self care?

Lemme tell you something, I am up between 6 and 6:30 every morning. I go to work until 6:00, come home, work out, make dinner, clean up dinner, relax for an hour or so, get in the shower and go to bed. If I can find time, anyone can find time. Do you know why?Because self care does not need to be something you sit down for a couple hours a day to do. I like to spread it throughout the day so I can keep my mind replenished.

Here are my top 10 self care practices. I do not do all of these each day. I will start with a couple and add more if I desire.

1. List 3 things you are grateful for everyday. I did not start doing this until this year but I do it every morning just at my desk at work. I have a note on my phone and just list the date, 3 things, then I'm done! It's so quick and easy! I know this many not seem like much but it really helps to just take a few minutes in the morning and focus on a few good things in life rather than thinking about how much the phone is ringing at work and thinking about everything I need to get done.

2. Find a TV show you love and watch just an episode a week. If you like shows with really short episodes, watch a few a week. I always feel so lazy when I do this but it is so good to just take some time out for me. Currently I'm watching This is Us and The Bachelor. I know, I know, I'm one of those girls that watches The Bachelor. I hadn't watched The Bachelor for a few years until this season. Every week I look forward to having some time to just sit and watch it. If you need shows that are shorter I highly recommend Parks and Rec and The Office. They are so lighthearted and are good if you just need to take 25 minutes to yourself.

3. Read, read, READ! I know I mentioned reading in my last post but I just love it so much! I finished this book a couple weeks ago.

Side note: I highly recommend Brene Brown. I have read two of her books now and she just wows me every time. I read this one and also The Gifts of Imperfection. When I read The Gifts of Imperfection it felt like she had written the book either about me or for me specifically. She is absolutely incredible and I can't wait to get my hands on another one of her books.

Back to topic, read just one chapter if that is all you have time for and make sure it is a book you actually like. Few things are worse than trudging through a book you don't even like.

4. Bubble baths or bath bombs. Seriously. I love these things. If I have had an especially long or hard day I like to just take a bath with some relaxing music and either bubble bath or a bath bomb. I like to follow that with using one of my favorite lotions.

5. Dance and sing! I tend to do this either in my car or when I'm home alone because lets be honest, I look kinda silly doing it. It is an instant stress relief. Not the dancing and singing type? No problem! Listen to your favorite song or just a song that makes you smile. You will feel instantly happier.

6. Exercise. I'll be honest. I do not like to exercise. But, I still do it. Why? I may hate it while I'm doing it but I feel so much better after than I did when I started. Trying to convince myself to work out is just the hard part. I know this one actually takes some planning but it doesn't need to be anything fancy. You can go on a walk and count it. Personally, I use YouTube videos. My favorite trainer I have found is Jeanette Jenkins. You can find one of her videos here. The way I force myself to work out is remember that I regret when I don't do it but never regret when I do.

7. Cut out toxic people. I know, not something you can do throughout the day but it really does help. It is never worth being friends with someone if they make you feel terrible about yourself.

8. Unplug. Everyone is so addicted to their phones these days. I'm definitely one of those people. I have it with me all the time. However, there are times when I intentionally leave it in another room and ignore it. This can actually be a relief!

9. Stay off social media. Social media has a way of make us feel like we aren't doing enough which can ware on us emotionally. You don't need to give up social media, just don't get on it as much as normal. I've cut my Facebook use quite a lot lately and it's been so nice! There is so much negativity on there and it is really nice to distance myself from that.

10. Laugh. This is the easiest one to do. I make it a goal to laugh throughout the day. Luckily, I find quite a few things to be funny and my coworkers are always making me laugh. Don't have funny coworkers or don't laugh and hardly anything? Go to YouTube and search for something that you know you will laugh at. Dominic (my husband) doesn't laugh at hardly anything but I know that if I can get him to watch a video involving slapstick humor, he will laugh.

And that's a wrap! These are my top 10 strategies for self care. Like I said, self care is so important. There is no way to give to others when you have nothing to give. So take some time for yourself throughout the day. You aren't being selfish, I promise.

bottom of page